Lessons from Singing in the Car

We love music in this house. Almost any kind of music. At only a few months old, Jesse actually would not ride in the car without Disney’s “The Jungle Book” soundtrack playing. By the time he was a toddler, he’d graduated to what he called “Rockin’ the Roll,” singing at the top of his lungs. When Ben came along, we played everything from Veggie Tales to Steve Green scripture songs in the car, eventually graduating to my personal favorite, 1970s pop.

One especially trying day, I noticed something I’ll never forget. The boys were fussy in the back seat and there was no music playing, so I turned on some random something. No effect. I popped that out and put in Steve Green’s “Hide ‘Em In Your Heart.” The lyrics are actually quoted scripture put to original music for children. Within one minute, the whining stopped. They were humming and singing. It wasn’t the music. It was the words–God’s Word.

Not long after, the boys were in the playroom and I heard a crash. Ben had toppled out of a big toy storage bucket and popped his head on the table corner. I scooped him up and pressed his bloody noggin. The three of us hopped in the car and drove to the emergency room. Jesse and Ben were both scared and crying. I said, “How about we sing?” I started, “When I am afraid, I will trust in Thee, I will trust in Thee, I will trust in Thee,” the familiar scripture song we’d learned. By the end of that phrase, there were only sniffles. On the next phrase, there were two little voices coming from the back seat singing quietly with me. This momma just about squalled. Imagine trying to hold it together during that fearful time with such precious proclamations of assurance coming from a toddler and preschooler.

Those little boys lived out an important truth before me–never doubt the power of the Holy Spirit to work through scripture. Memorize it. Sing it. Say it aloud. Proclaim it to the mountaintops. Speak God’s Word back to Him, reminding Him of His promises, reminding ourselves of His promises.

When I am afraid.”

Fearful times aren’t limited to childhood, a particular life stage, or even circumstances. Sometimes fear seems irrational. It can be overwhelming. The Bible verse I sang with my boys even includes the word when, not if, to remind me there is no question that I will experience times of fear. It’s a given.

Throughout scripture, we see the command to fear not. Look at this little bit of research, the number of times these phrases are used in scripture:

“Do not fear.” 66 times (ESV translation)
“Fear not.” 158 times (ESV translation)
“Do not be dismayed.” 13 times (ESV translation)

If you look at just a few of the verses in context, the people God commanded to fear not had great reason to be afraid. They were afraid.

For example, the situation in Deuteronomy 31 gave Joshua every reason to be afraid. Moses was no longer going to lead the Israelites into the Promised Land. Joshua was. He’d heard the report from the 12 spies who saw the giants in the land. It was a daunting task. But here’s what Moses said to Joshua:

It is the Lord who goes before you.
He will be with you;
He will not leave you or forsake you.
Do not fear or be dismayed.
(emphasis mine)

Jump to Joshua 1. Moses has died at this point. The Lord commissions Joshua, sending him into the Promised Land with these words:

Have I not commanded you?
Be strong and courageous.
Do not be frightened,
and do not be dismayed,
for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.
(emphasis mine)

God knew how Joshua was going to feel. And like Joshua, God knows how we feel. He knows we will be afraid. He knows we will be dismayed. Praise God, He does not leave us alone to sit in that fear. He gives us Himself. He promises His presence, His help, His strength. When I live in light of that truth, fear doesn’t take centerstage. God does.

God’s promise of “I am with you” is attached to those 237 commands to fear not. Fear not is possible because He is with me. God is with me.

The Lord is my light and my salvation;
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life;
of whom shall I be afraid? 
Psalm 17:1

Memorize it. Sing it. Say it aloud. Proclaim it to the mountaintops.

2 thoughts on “Lessons from Singing in the Car

  1. I need to remember your words, my friend:
    “When I live in light of that truth,
    fear doesn’t take centerstage.
    God does.”
    Maybe I need to post them on my mirror.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment